Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

IMG_0115

I know, I know, copying recipes directly from fellow food bloggers does not a chef make. But the second I saw Joy the Baker‘s rendition of cornbread last week, I knew I had to recreate it as soon as physically possible. There is little difference between my and her versions, but I still felt the need to share the deliciousness. You’ll even see that I completely forgot to photograph any adorable little wedges of the cornbread draped in melty butter or drizzly honey, because the moment this cornbread was cut out of the dish, I just couldn’t seem to stop eating it long enough to photograph it. Sorry.

I’ll also mention that the reason I had rosemary and orange on hand in the first place was because of this recipe — Orange-Rosemary-Glazed Salmon. Simple, bright, and delicate, this easy preparation comes highly recommended by my taste buds.

Brown Butter Rosemary Orange Cornbread

1 stick plus 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
2 large eggs
1 cup milk
2 tablespoons fresh orange juice
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup ground cornmeal
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon grated orange zest
2 tablespoons chopped fresh rosemary

Place a rack in the upper third of the oven and preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and 8×8-inch square baking pan. Line with parchment paper and grease and flour the baking pan. Set aside.

In a small saucepan, melt the butter over medium-low heat. Melt and cook butter down completely, stirring carefully until it turns a golden brown. You’ll see brown bits start to form at the bottom of the pan. Remove immediately and cool in the fridge.

In a medium bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, orange juice, and browned butter. Set aside.

In a large bowl, blend together sugar, orange zest, and chopped rosemary. Blend with the back of a spoon working the orange and rosemary flavors into the sugar.

Add flour, cornmeal, salt, and baking soda to the large bowl with the flavored sugar. Whisk to combine.

Add the wet ingredients all at once to the dry ingredients. Stir until just incorporated. Pour batter into prepared pan and smooth to the edges. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until a skewer inserted in the center comes out clean.

IMG_0052

IMG_0068

IMG_0082

IMG_0091

IMG_0098

Enjoy!

